St Pat’s Announce Strong Management Teams For 2021 Campaigns

St Pat’s 2021 Senior Managerial Roles Announced

In their Club Newsletter St Pats have announced the men in charge of their Senior Hurling, Senior Football and Ladies Senior Football teams for the 2021 campaigns.

Senior Ladies:

St Pat’s have drafted in former Wicklow Ladies Senior Football Manager Mick O Rourke to take charge of their Senior Ladies team for 2021. A hugely experienced manager, Mick will know the abundance of talent and potential there is in the county town side with that potential well proven during the reign of outgoing manager Robert Hollingsworth, with the former Wicklow Senior Football Goalkeeper guiding his home club to within minutes of toppling the Six In A Row County Champions Tinahely and St Pats were consistently the biggest challenger to Tinahely’s dominance in that era.

With Tinahely still dominating the grade and the emergence of Blessington as a big challenger in the Senior Title Race, getting St Pats to the 2021 County Final will be no easy task but the talent is undoubtedly in the club to do it and with the experience that Mick will bring to the table, expect St Pats to be major players in 2021.

Senior Mens Football:

Casey O Brien continues his time at the helm of St Pats and he will be hell bent on wrestling the Miley Cup back from Baltinglass. The 2020 campaign was shaping up nicely for St Pats and they looked heavy favourites to defend their title until a young Tinahely side stunned the County Champs in one of the most enjoyable and competitive Championships in recent memory.

There will be motivation aplenty and Casey and his charges will be a short price to wrestle the Miley Cup back east. The 2019 title and the way in which his charges defeated Ferbane on the road in the Leinster Championship and lost out to Leinster Veterans Portlaoise on penalties would suggest to Casey and every other Wicklow Senior Club manager that the standard is there not only to take a County Title but a Leinster Title is not a far fetched dream anymore for whoever is crowned Wicklow Senior Football Champion in 2021 with the return of the Leinster Club Championship.

Senior Hurling:

Former Wicklow Goalkeeper Mick Neary is back at the helm of St Pats Senior hurlers once again as 2020 manager Ray Nolan will be in charge of his home club Avondale for the 2021 campaign. There’s very few more experienced Wicklow Club hurling managers than Mick Neary who has managed more Wicklow Hurling teams than most of us have had hot dinners and there’s only a handful of hurling teams in the county he has yet to take charge of so the in depth knowledge of the strengths and weaknesses of opposition clubs will be a major plus for St Pats.

St Pat’s have been agonisingly close to toppling reigning champions Bray Emmets in the past so finding that extra few percent of improvement will be key to St Pats who have marquee players to call upon like Andy & George O Brien to name just a few and Mick Neary will be the man tasked with finding that little bit extra from the St Pats Hurlers.

The Full St Pat’s Newsletter:

St Patricks GAA Club Wicklow Town
January 2021 Newsletter

Dear Member,

Due to the current level 5 restrictions, we have been forced to close our pitches and clubhouse in accordance with Government guidelines. We will continue to follow Government decisions and we will hope to have our facilities in use as soon as possible.
Our weekly lotto is suspended until February 8th. Unfortunately, we cannot sell paper tickets in the current COVID 19 environment so we have taken the decision to suspend the draw until then. All online tickets purchased will be entered in the next draw.
At the moment, the club is currently working on their application for the Sports Capital Program (SCP) for their development on Greenhill Road. This program is operated by the department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media. The grant helps to assist the development or refurbishment of sports facilities and equipment. The portal is used to apply for funding and manage the drawdown of grants. The deadline for registration is 5pm on Monday 15th February 2021. The closing date for applications is the 1st of March 2021.
Servasport has been replaced with Foireann. Servasport was the online registration system for GAA, LGFA and Camogie. We will hope to have this setup online within the coming weeks.
For the 2021 season, Casey O’Brien will continue as the manager for the Senior Football team supported by his backroom team. Michael Neary is the manager for our Senior Hurling team for the coming year supported by his coaching team. Mick O’Rourke will take charge of our Senior Ladies this season he also comes with a good backroom team. All our teams are very excited for the year ahead, they will all return to training when it is deemed safe to do so in accordance with Government guidelines.
Congratulations to all the winners of the player of the year awards. Cian O’Brien received the award for the junior A player of the year in 2019, with Aidan Dunne taking the award in 2020. Congratulations to Paddy O’Keane who picked up young player of the year in 2019 and the senior player of the year in 2020. Tommy Kelly was awarded senior player of the year for 2019, with Matthew Traynor getting the young player of the year award in 2020. The young and senior hurlers of the year awards went to Robert Mofitt and George ‘Bee O’Brien. Well done to all the winners, well deserved.
The executive committee for the year 2021 is:
Chairperson: John Smith, Secretary: Bryan Doyle, Vice Chairperson: Tara Gorman, Treasurer: James Phelan, Registrar: Georgina Cruise, P.R.O: Ciaron Noble, Juvenile Chairperson: Alan Lawlor, Hurling Officer: John O’Brien, Football Officer: Gary Duffy, Ladies Chairperson: Rob Greene, Camogie Officer: Margaret Leonard, Children’s Officer: Carmel Earls, Committee Member: Don Griffin
We would like to extend our thanks to Rhona Murphy for all her great work as Players Insurance Officer. Her service will be missed. We are actively looking for a new person to fill the vacant role.
We would like to wish all our members a Happy New Year and all the best for 2021.
Stay Safe

Share This Post