Lucy Mulhall Captains Ireland 7’s Team As They Make History In Sydney

Ireland 22-7 Spain




















Lucy Mulhall and her Ireland Women’s Sevens team booked themselves a semi final birth after sweeping past Spain in the quarter-final of the World Series in Sydney to assure themselves a first ever top-four finish.

They take on hosts Australia tonight and – win, lose or draw – will finish the tournament as the top European side in the competition and secure their rank as pretty fricken unreal.!!

Eve Higgins touched down for Ireland’s first try against Spain which our very own Ireland Captain Lucy Mulhall converted to make it 7-0 and then converted a penalty just before the break to send Ireland in leading 10-0 after splitting the uprights like she has done many times for Tinahely and Wicklow.

The second half then began with Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe touching down for her fifth try of the tournament which an unerring Tinahely lady by the name of Lucy Mulhall converted to put Ireland 17-0 up

Ireland were not letting off the gas pedal as Amee-Leigh touched down, for her 6th Tournament try which places her as the leading try scorer at the Sydney 7s.

Spain snuck in for a late try to prevent the whitewash but Lucy and Ireland march on to a semi with the Ozzies tonight. Lucy’s sister Emily lines out for the Wicklow Ladies against Roscommon today so hopefully the Mulhall family have two victories to celebrate tonight!

Ireland Women’s 7s Squad – Sydney 7s: Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC & Shannon RFC / Munster), Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC / Munster), Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC / Leinster), Brittany Hogan (Railway Union RFC / Ulster), Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union RFC / Munster), Anna McGann (Old Belvedere & UCD RFC / Leinster), Emily Lane (Mallow RFC / Munster), Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC), Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (Old Belvedere RFC / Munster), Audrey O’Flynn (Ireland 7s Programme), Béibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe RFC / Connacht), Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster), Katie Heffernan (Railway Union RFC & Mullingar RFC/Leinster)