John Keenan Will Be The Man In The Middle For The 2023 All Ireland Senior Hurling Final

Elation and a sheer sense of justice are the emotions that come to the fore as the GAA have announced that John Keenan a proud Aughrim GAA club man and an equally proud Wicklow GAA man will be the man tasked to take charge of the 2023 All Ireland Senior Hurling Final clash between Limerick & Kilkenny.

John is a referee who has worked his way to the top of the refereeing ranks alongside his father, brothers and friends who have donned the umpires white jackets alongside him all the way and the strong backing from so many of the top officials both past and present along with pundits and hurling supporters across the land are testament to the calibre of his refereeing. It’s hard to believe that this will be his first time to take charge of hurlings showpiece given the esteem he is held in by all quarters and the many classic games that he oversaw which he in no small part contributed to but thankfully the powers that be finally saw the good sense to give him the greatest honour possible for a hurling referee.

The selection of John for the biggest game of them all also rewards two other Wicklow men who have travelled the length and breadth of Ireland alongside John as his umpires Eddie Leonard (St Pats) and Tommy Redmond (Tinahely) will be the men manning the flags in HQ and their long and excellent service will be rewarded.

As we know it is getting harder these days to recruit officials but luckily for us in the Garden County we have a referee of John’s caliber who is a shining example to any young budding referee in this county who may harbour ambitions to one day officiate at the very top level. 

With top level referees like John Keenan and Anthony Nolan blazing a trail for Wicklow Referees there is no better time to get involved in officiating in this county when you have the help and support of two of the GAA’s top officials on tap and other newer faces to the inter county panels like Darragh Byrne and Stephen Fagan among others making great progress at county level.

From us all here and no doubt every GAA fan in County Wicklow we wish John, Eddie and Tommy all the very best on the big day in what will be a memorable and richly deserved occasion for each of them and their families.

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Top Scorers 2023

RankPlayerTeamGoalsPointsTotal Pts
1TJ Reid27379
2Evan Niland07777
3Donal Burke25965
4Aaron Gillane34756
5Tony Kelly53348
6Conal Cunning24248
7Patrick Horgan23945
8Jason Forde43143
9Conor Whelan71839
10Mark Rodgers42739
11Eoin Cody52136
12Stephen Bennett03636
13Lee Chin13235
14Ciaran Doyle03232
15Cian O Sullivan32231
16Diarmaid Byrnes12730
17Aidan McCarthy12730
18Martin Keoghan5924
19Mark Kehoe41224
20Jake Morris21824
21Rory O Connor02424
22Gearoid O Connor12023
23Niall O Brien21622
24Brian Concannon21622
25Seamus Flanagan4921
26Kevin Cooney21319
27Tom Morrissey01818
28James McNaughton21117
29Shane O Donnell21117
30Adrian Mullen01616
31David Fitzgerald01515
32Cathal O Neill11215
33Tom Phelan11215
34Noel McGrath01515
35Declan Dalton2915
36Darragh Fitzgibbon11114
37Liam Og McGovern3514
38Danny Sutcliffe11114
39Conor Johnston3514
40Conor McDonald3514
41Dessie Hutchinson11013
42Seamus Harnedy01212
43Thomas Monaghan1912
44Martin Kavanagh01212
45Cathal Dunbar1912
46Alan Tynan01111
47Cathal Mannion1811
48Jack O Connor01111
49Peter Casey01111
50Ian Galvin1811
51Cian Boland1710
52Mark Grogan1710
53Oisin Foley01010
54Gearoid Hegarty01010
55Joseph Cooney01010
56Declan McLoughlin1710
57Conor Cooney01010
58Eoghan Cahill1710
59Billy Ryan01010
60Paul Crummey099
61John McGrath239
62Niall Mitchell309
63Liam Collins169
64John Donnelly099
65Keelan Molloy169
66Paddy Deegan158
67Seamus Kennedy088
68Niall McKenna088
69Diarmuid Ryan088
70Ryan Taylor088
71Seamus Callanan158
72Walter Walsh158
73Neil McManus158
74Daithi Burke147
75Cathal Malone147
76Conor Stakelum077
77Davy Glennon077
78David Reidy066
79Shane Kingston066
80Alex Considine136
81Cillian Kiely136
82Peter Duggan136
83Conor Burke066
84Darragh O Donovan066
85Mikey Butler125
86Gerard Walsh055
87Chris O Leary055
88David Blanchfield055
89Conor Bowe055
90Kyle Hayes055
91Joey Boyle055
92Eoin O Neill125
93Sean Ryan125
94Sean Elliot055
95Robbie O Flynn125
96Daire Gray055
97Austin Gleeson055
98Aron Shanagher055
99Jason Flynn125
100David McInerney044