Match Report – Wicklow Minor Footballers Defeat Wexford


The Wicklow Minors took on Wexford today in Ballinakill. Playing with the aid of a strong wind Wexford were first to score with two well worked points. Wicklow were struggling to create scoring opportunities playing into the wind but some patient play would lead to points from Eoin Doyle and Matthew Ging to bring the sides level.

With the Wicklow defence and midfield beginning to get on top Wexford would only add one more point in the half thanks to some tenacious defending and multiple turnovers by Wicklow. A Joe Prendergast point would see the teams go in level at the break but Wicklow would feel they should have been further ahead had it not been for some wayward passing at crucial times when a score looked on.

With the wind in their backs Wicklow would take an early lead in the second half with a point from Eoin Doyle. However the lead didn’t last long when Wexford capitalised on a mistake in the Wicklow defence to score the first goal of the game. Wicklow were not to panic though and took control of the game with points from Eoin Doyle (2) Matthew Ging (2) and Arun Daly Danne. Wicklow were them awarded a penalty but a great save from the Wexford keeper would deny Matthew Ging his goal. Wicklow kept applying the pressure on the Wexford defence and a point by Eoin Doyle was quickly followed up by a goal for the Rathnew man to finally give Wicklow some breathing space. Points from Jack Kirwan and Luke Dorgan would cap off the Wicklow display to leave a score line of Wicklow 1-12 Wexford 1-4

Wicklow Squad for the day was Andy Nolan (Laragh) Daniel Healy (Eire Og) Sam Kearney (Bray Emmets) Jordan Brady (An Tochar) Neil Browne (Eire Og) Adam Hadden (Tinahely) Daniel Cooney (Blessington) Arun Daly Danne (Baltinglass) Sean Coffey (Rathnew) Joe Prendergast (Eire Og) Tom Moran (Dunlavin) Shane Daly (Donard/Glen) Tommy Keogh (Baltinglass) Matthew Guing (Tinahely) Eoin Doyle (Rathnew) Jack Sargent (Blessington) Bradley Hickey (Tinahely) Thade Shanahan (Eire Og) Cian Hynes (Eire Og) Luke OBrien (Blessington) Luka Harney (Hollywood) Fionn O’Sullivan (Rathnew) Jack Kirwan (Baltinglass) Mikey ORourke (Dunlavin) Luke Dorgan (Eire Og) Keith Burke (Hollywood) Injured players Joe Mills (Donardglen) Eoin O’Neill (Eire Og) Roy Byrne (Kilcoole) Daniel Hedderman (Tinahely)

Last Weekends Training Paid Dividends!

Click Image To Visit Our Sponsors Website

Become A Bill Hill Patron And Help Us Pay Our Website Costs

Click The Link To Support Our Site


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.